Brokenness Aside

I want to warn you all from sitting at the table of brokenness.

By brokenness I am not talking about being shattered because there’s a differences between being shattered and being broken. Divorce will shatter you but you can get married again. Loosing your job can shatter you but you can be employed again. Being shattered means you can be fixed but to be broken means God’s got to humble you.

I got on my knees last night and asked God for strength. Strength over the complicated living situations I am in. I asked God to keep my body strong and to give me what I need in this effort. I asked God to put his hands on me that I might lead his people without distractions. Instead, God put more on me today. I didn’t ask for that. I asked for grace. I asked for strength. I asked God to give me more power than he had last year. Instead, he gave me pain.

Through the abundance of things God has already done for me to keep my feet on the ground, to draw me closer to him he gave me something that I’ve got to depend on him more than I ever had. He says “If I let you do all that you planned to do without me you are going to take glory that does not belong to you. So to keep you humble, to break you, to mold you, to shape you I’ve got to make you dependant on me. Because Mother’s not there, Dad’s not there, sister’s are not there. Late in the midnight hour you need somebody who’s grace is sufficient.”

Paul shares the depth of the dilemma he’s in because he uses the word ‘thorn.’ It’s not a light prick but it is a wooden stick that impales you.

I want to speak to someone who has every had a thorn, or you’re currently feeling this throne. Sweet little church sayings or antidotes won’t get rid of that thorn.

Your pain may have been carried to you by Satan, but it was conceived by God. God won’t let anything happen to his child that catches him off guard. If you haven’t been through anything skip this post. But, if you’ve been through your own storm. If you’ve had a thorn jug you every time you thought you were about to turn the corner or every time you thought you were feeling better it jugs you again then there’s help. Whatever your thorn is there’s good news. Paul said “I went to the Lord and asked him to remove it.”

I went to the Lord and I asked him to remove my thorn, but like Paul I heard him say “my grace is sufficient.”

His grace is sufficient friends. Believe it.

His grace woke you up this morning. His grace started you on your way. His grace is standing you up right now. His grace will keep you all the year long.

So, when brokenness gives you an invite to sit at its table, decline. For brokenness allows God to mold you and change you but if you are content with dwelling in a state of brokenness a change won’t ever come. Set brokenness aside and keep God in mind.

This week’s song is Brokenness Aside by All Sons and Daughters

Lyrics:
Will your grace run out
If I let you down
‘Cause all I know
Is how to run

‘Cause I am a sinner
If it’s not one thing it’s another
Caught up in words
Tangled in lies
But You are a Savior
And You take brokenness aside
And make it beautiful
Beautiful

Will You call me child
When I tell you lies
‘Cause all I know
Is how to cry

‘Cause I am a sinner
If it’s not one thing it’s another
Caught up in words
Tangled in lies
But You are a Savior
And You take brokenness aside
And make it beautiful
Beautiful

You make it beautiful
You make it beautiful
[x2]

2 thoughts on “Brokenness Aside

Leave a Reply

