Set Me Ablaze

My prayer for everyone is that we will be on fire for the Lord. That we will continuously burn, that we will continuously be in love and pursue the presence of God and all that He has for us. That we will never grow cold, our hearts will never harden nor will we get tired of the things of God and His Kingdom.

There is a constant reminder in Scripture to stay alert, stay awake, and stay on fire for God. He tell us us to stay prayed up, fasted up, filled up, read up, and lit up. Not only must we stay in His written Word, we must always stay close to Him, we must keep our lamps filled with oil.

 

Have you ever cooked a dish and used old oil? Notice with the old and spare oil the item your cooking takes a little longer to cook. Often, the quality of the food is less than. When believers let their lamps go out it is because they are living today on yesterday’s oil. Doing things the way we did it yesterday does not necessarily work in the here and now. It never lasts in the future. It is always sad to see so many Christians living in the past and refusing to allow themselves the refreshing renewing and change for the better that comes with truly following God, instead they choose to reuse their oil over a fresh supply. As a result, they have little life. Their oil has long since run out. Their life serves no purpose. They give off no light.

Does the journey of the ten virgins mean anything at all?

  “Then the kingdom of heaven will be comparable to ten virgins, who took their lamps and went out to meet the bridegroom. Five of them were foolish, and five were prudent. For when the foolish took their lamps, they took no oil with them, but the prudent took oil in flasks along with their lamps. 

   Now while the bridegroom was delaying, they all got drowsy and began to sleep. But at midnight there was a shout, ‘Behold, the bridegroom! Come out to meet him.’ Then all those virgins rose and trimmed their lamps. The foolish said to the prudent, ‘Give us some of your oil, for our lamps are going out.’ But the prudent answered, ‘No, there will not be enough for us and you too; go instead to the dealers and buy some for yourselves.’ 

  And while they were going away to make the purchase, the bridegroom came, and those who were ready went in with him to the wedding feast; and the door was shut. Later the other virgins also came, saying, ‘Lord, lord, open up for us.’ But he answered, ‘Truly I say to you, I do not know you.’ Be on the alert then, for you do not know the day nor the hour.” (Matthew 25:1-13)

The oil represents the presence of God in our life. It is the presence of the Holy Spirit. It’s the oil that keeps the fire burning. It is mentioned in the parable that the oil is to be purchased. Which means that a price is to be paid to obtain the oil. To have a continual presence of God in our life, we are to pay a price, by spending time at the feet of Jesus. Only the presence of God in our life can keep the fire burning through the dark knights. It was the lack of an adequate supply of oil which caused these foolish maidens to be met with the words, “I do not know you”. They did, of course, have some oil when they began but it was not enough. Oil, in the Old Testament, is frequently used as a symbol of the Holy Spirit. The oil symbolizes the Spirit of God by which light of testimony could be maintained in the hour of darkness.

Sincere Christians are the wise virgins, and hypocrites the foolish ones. Many have a lamp in their hands, but no oil to keep the fire for the lamp. They were all virgins, meaning they were all “acceptable” for the Lord’s Return, and initially all lamps were lit. But the Lord delayed His return – over 2000 years. And they all fell asleep. The point the Lord was making wasn’t “don’t fall asleep,” but “be ready for my return”. When the shout came, they all awoke. But then came the separation; 5 virgins thought it ‘wise’ to keep a measure of oil-the Holy Spirit, for His Return, and 5 virgins didn’t. While the 5 foolish virgins went looking for ‘oil sellers’, the Master came and closed the doors – leaving them outside. The sad truth came when they reminded Him of their invitation, He says, “I knew you not” (Matt. 25:12).

Are you equip with the Holy Spirit and ready to meet the Lord?Are you still on fire for Him? After all, God likes the fire: it heats you up, makes you move, burns sin, burns sickness, burns diseases, and purifications takes place in the fire. It’s the Holy Spirit and Fire that keeps us alive.

This week’s song is Set Me Ablaze by Jesus Culture ft. Katie Torwalt

Lyrics:
Set me ablaze, set me ablaze
Till it’s all that I know
Set me ablaze, set me ablaze
So I’ll never grow cold [x2]

[Chorus:]
Breathe, come and breathe
On the coals of my heart,
May Your fire start
Breathe, come and breathe
On the coals of my heart
Keep me burning
Breathe, come and breathe
On the coals of my heart,
May Your fire start
Come and breathe
On the coals of my heart oh

Set me ablaze, set me ablaze
With a single obsession
Set me ablaze, set me ablaze
With an endless passion [x2]

[Chorus x2:]
Breathe, come and breathe
On the coals of my heart,
May Your fire start
Breathe, come and breathe
On the coals of my heart
Keep me burning
Breathe, come and breathe
On the coals of my heart,
May Your fire start
Come and breathe
On the coals of my heart oh

Your fire, burn brighter
Deep inside my heart
Consume me, reach through me
I want all You are
Your fire, burn brighter
Deep inside my heart
Consume me, reach through me [x2]

Set me ablaze, set me ablaze
Till it’s all that I know
Set me ablaze, set me ablaze
So I’ll never grow cold

 

2 thoughts on “Set Me Ablaze

  1. Hi I want to understand this song of set me a blaze, in this verse of “with a single obsession” and with endless passion”.
    I really love the song…please explain.

    Like

  2. Hi Ciara! Great question. This song focuses on the cry of a generation desiring to be filled with God’s presence and fire. It speaks about maintaining the fire of God in your life and making it an obsession, something in which you are focused on, a top priority. And making God and the fire we desire to have within us an obsession reveals the endless passion we have. To be obsessed with this all consuming fire is to have a passion to live on fire for God, to stay lit, to be forever passionate about Christ

    Like

Leave a Reply

