“Without Me, You Can Do Nothing!”

Happy Music Monday ❤

Most of us don’t like to admit it when we can’t accomplish something on our own. We have a hard time humbling ourselves and recognizing that some things are out of our control.

Without Christ, you can do nothing … just what does this mean exactly? Isn’t it true that there are non-Christians that have done great things, and if so, then what does this verse really mean?

What is meant in this verse is that without Jesus we can do nothing of eternal significance (Matthew 5:3).  We are without life, love and legacy without the power of Christ!

The Bible teaches us that only by dwelling in Christ we have eternal significance and can reap eternal rewards.  Without Christ, we can do nothing of eternal significance!

1. Without Me – No Life!
John 15:1-4

Here, Jesus begins to paint a picture to teach us some spiritual truths, He states that “He is the vine,” and that “His Father is the gardener!” 

Jesus is speaking to His disciples, showing them and us that we must abide in Him to have life, and not just a life like every non-believer, but a life that will matter not just now but in eternity

2. Without Me – No Love!
John 15:5-8

Now, Jesus turns from the negative – no life, to the positive – “much fruit” for those who depend on him.

Those who abide in Christ will not only have life, they will have “much fruit,” and since we know that the fruit of the Spirit is “love” this is what He means!

Jesus made a similar statement in John 13:35 like this: “by this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, that you love one another.”

3. Without Me – No Legacy!
John 15:16-17

Jesus says here, in depending on him we will produce “fruit that will last.” He means that if we recognize that by ourselves we fail and recognize our need for Him we can give something to the world besides momentary existence. In gettign rid of the “I Can Do Bad All By Myself” attitude we can serve the world and show it love much like Christ.

Without Christ, there is no legacy, no privilege, no eternal dimensions to our life!

Therefore, what Jesus means when He said, “Without me, you can do nothing!” is that while we might live for the moment, with Him we live forever, our actions have everlasting consequences when we abide in Christ! Nothing like this is done without Him!

This weeks song is By Myself by Deon Kipping

Lyrics:
By Myself,
It won’t work,
Lord I need,

I need your help (2x)
By Myself,
It won’t work,
Lord I need,
I need your help

Can’t make it without you, Oh God (4x)

Trust me, trust me, trust me when I say
By Myself,
It won’t work,
Lord I need, I need, I need, I need
I need your help (2x)
By Myself,
It won’t work,
Lord I need,
I need your help (2x)

Can’t make it without you, Oh God (4x)

Leave a Reply

