I Don’t Look Like What I’ve Been Through!

Dear friends,

I would be lying if I told you that I have never been hurt, broken or that I’ve never experienced being betrayed or alone. The truth is I’ve experienced that and more, but you would never know unless you asked me. Because of Gods grace there’s no evidence of my past. I’m so glad I don’t look like what I’ve been through.

Two weeks ago yesterday I was rushed in the ambulance to the hospital. Lying there at my church, unconscious for a few odd hours from overworking myself and leaning on my own failing strength. I struggle even now to share this, feeling as though I’ll be judged, looked down upon or pitied. I allowed myself to believe I looked like what I’ve been through. But, yesterday I returned to church since the incident and was greeted by some who came up to me smiling and saying “you don’t look like what you’ve been through.” With those few words I changed my walk of shame to one of victory, I certainly did not look like what I’ve been through – God’s grace covered all the scars, hurt and shame.

For every day I’m alive I thank God. Now there’s a smile where I cried.  As I was laying in the hospital bed, weak and unsure of how I looked I was forced to open my mouth and declare that God is good. Despite being in that hospital bed, IV’s plugged in, heart monitored, drugged, I could say VICTORY IS HIS.

Psalms 30:5 says “….weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning.”   When trials and afflictions are the most severe, pressing or heavily upon us, we rejoice that we are comforted by His promises in His Word and by His presence that His light cannot nor will not be overcome with the darkness of our situations.  

So instead of looking stressed out, beat down, worn out, despondent and talking defeat, believers realize that “though we be cast down we will not be destroyed” and maintain hope eternal as we go through any fiery trial surrounding us.

I can smile today because of what I went through.

Wherever you are right now just take a minute to think about some of the things you went through, some of the things you had to endure. Yes, while we’ve been through hell, we don’t look like the hell we’ve been through.

Happy Music Monday ❤

This week’s song is I Don’t Look Like (What I’ve Been Through) by Deon Kipping

Lyrics:
I don’t look like (I don’t look like)
What I been through (What I been through)
I don’t look like (I don’t look like)
What I been through (What I been through)
(2x)

I lift my hands now (I lift my hands now)
I open my mouth now (I open my mouth now)
Everything’s new now (Everything’s new now)
Because I went through (Because I went through)
(2x)

You don’t look like (You don’t look like)
What you been through (What you been through)
You don’t look like (You don’t look like)
What you been through (What you been through)
(2x)

There’s no weapon (There’s no weapon)
That shall prosper (That shall prosper)
It may form now (It may form now)
But it won’t prosper (But it won’t prosper)
(2x)

I can smile now (I can smile now)
No longer mad now (No longer mad now)
Everything is new now (Everything’s new now)
Because I went through (Because I went through)
(2x)

There’s a smile on my face, because I know where I came from. I remember when I was depressed, now I have joy. So many times I was confused, now I have understating. At one point in my life I was so stressed out, and God gave me peace. There is a reason why I’m smiling, he is the reason why I am smiling, and I’m so glad I don’t look like what I been through

I can smile now (I can smile now)
No longer mad now (No longer mad now)
Everything’s new now (Everything’s new now)
Because I went through (Because I went through)

I am free now (I am free now)
No longer bound now (No longer bound now)
Victory is here now (Victory’s here now)
Because I went through (Because I went through)

I lift my hands now (I lift my hands now)
I open my mouth now (I open my mouth now)
Everything is new now (Everything’s new now)
Because I went through (Because I went through)
(2x)

I lift my hands now (I lift my hands now)
I open my mouth now (I open my mouth now)
Victory is here right now (Victory’s here now)
Because I went through (Because I went through)

Because I went through (Because I went through)
I’m alive today because (Because I went through)
I can smile today because (Because I went through)
Oh, because I went through

P.S If you have a pressing testimony you’d like to share, please feel free to contact me and share your “I Don’t Look Like What I’ve Been Through” message.

 

3 thoughts on “I Don’t Look Like What I’ve Been Through!

  1. Wow. Glad you are ok. Also felt a bit of this when loosing my parents. I realised how greatful I am for each day and the air in my lings. Life is precious and we live for Him. We are so so very blessed for what Jesus has done for us and is doing. It is beyond words. Your post is very encouraging.

    Like

    1. Thank you very much! I may not know you personally but I can say that I love and appreciate this support. I’m sorry to hear about your loss but I’m glad this post could help!

      Like

Leave a Reply

