Give Thanks

Lord I’m thankful for my blessing, everything thing that you gave, when danger was around me my life is what you saved…

Thanksgiving is more than a day off. It is more than eating mashed potatoes and gravy, watching baseball, and taking a wonderful turkey-induced nap – all of which was included in my Thanksgiving day.

Thanksgiving is a prevalent and imperative concept in Scripture. And although it is good to set aside a day each October to cultivate a heart of thanksgiving, the Scriptures have more to say about giving thanks than one day a year can handle, it’s an everyday event.

But it’s clear that things are changing from the intended Scriptural meaning. It is then that the real meaning of Thanksgiving dawns on us. We discover that the real feast of Thanksgiving is feasting on thanksgiving not a feast that falls on Thanksgiving.

Yesterday was day one of my Thanksgiving celebration with family and friends and in preparation I woke up and ate very little, ready for the feast that I called Thanksgiving. Yes, you read right. I fell into the trap of leaving the day of Thanksgiving to one of pure indulgence instead of one reserved for thanksgiving. It seems I wasn’t the only one guilty of this because the events of the day was one that brought bickering and feuds, no thanking anywhere in the equation of Baseball, Presidential debates, and food.

I urge us all to step away from the cliché that has become of Thanksgiving and remember that we all have something or someone to be thankful for.

What is it that you are most thankful for? Friends? Family? Shelter? Love? Provision?

There are many things we’re thankful for – our families, jobs, health, food, friends, church, being Canadian, etc. But I want to echo what the songwriter says and say that I am thankful for the cross. The cross reminds us of three great facts:

1. We have fallen natures
The cross reminds us of sin. It’s our sin that made the cross necessary. Your sin. My sin. Not just the generic “sin of the world.” It was a public act that hits and connects with us all privately.

2. Who is responsible for Christ’s death?
There are all kinds of answers to the question of who’s responsible for the death of Jesus. Some blame the Jews. Others blame Judas who sold Him. And yet, the question, “Who nailed Him to the cross,” can only be answered with us. We are the reason, He was “wounded for OUR transgressions.”

3. We can’t save ourselves
In the message of the cross, it’s implicit that not only are we sinners, but there’s nothing we can do to save ourselves. Because of our pride we believe we’re to make our own way, succeed completely by our own efforts. However, the reality reveals that while we all want control when it comes to saving our souls, the message of the cross says we’re absolutely helpless.

When I find myself living a life of “CAN’T” I remember that God took away that “t” with blood and tears, it was the cross and left us with CAN. God CAN save us.

So carve out time this week to cultivate gratitude by looking at and tasting the grace of God in Christ, not just the turkey, but in the thousands of gifts that flow to us through Christ every single day. And let’s remember to reserve Thanksgiving mainly to a feasting on thanksgiving and bring thanksgiving to an everyday event.

Happy Thanksgiving friends ❤

This week’s song is Thankful by Mary Mary

Lyrics:
Lord I’m thankful for my blessings
everything that you gave
Times when danger was around me
My life lord you saved
Where would I be without your love
Where would I be without your grace
You didn’t have to do it but I’m glad you did

Can’t pretend that what I got
I got it on my own
Every move that i made
Can’t say I never been wrong
When I fell you picked me up again
Thought I brought it on myself
I can always depend on you
Whenever I need help

Lord I’m thankful for my blessings
everything that you gave
Times when danger was around me
My life lord you saved
Where would I be without your love
Where would I be without your grace
You didn’t have to do it but I’m glad you did

The next time you go to sleep
And you wake up alright
Remember that he kept you safe
And warm all through the night
Lift your hands and lift them high
And this is what you say
Lord you didn’t have to give me
One more day

Lord I’m thankful for my blessings
everything that you gave
Times when danger was around me
My life lord you saved
Where would I be without your love
Where would I be without your grace
You didn’t have to do it but I’m glad you did

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you
It’s plain to see
all that he’s done for me
I thank you for everything
I live my life
So I can let the world
know that I am

Lord I’m thankful for my blessings
everything that you gave
Times when danger was around me
My life lord you saved
Where would I be without your love
Where would I be without your grace
You didn’t have to do it but I’m glad you did

2 thoughts on “Give Thanks

  1. It’s not thanksgiving day here in the States (USA) until November. It is my favorite holiday. Thanks for reminding me of the joy and hope that comes with this special day. I will cultivate the praise of Him who paid the price for me. Glory Hallelujah!

    Like

Leave a Reply

