You Make Me Brave

How many of us can attest that our worship fails because we fear? We don’t feel good about our situations enough to give our praises to the Lord. This week we’re focusing on how to be brave by challenging ourselves to brave the waves of anxiety in our everyday lives by reminding us who controls the waves, and teaching us practical steps to awaken our faith while quitting our fears and trusting God in all things.

In Philippians 4 Paul is showing us how to be brave.

He says in verse 6, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”

One of the reasons we’re so anxious is because we’re not already thankful for what we have. So Paul says, if all you ever pray about is your needs and don’t stop to give your thanks you’ll always be anxious.

Verse 7 continues, “And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

The peace of God. That’s what we should be after. A piece the world cannot take away because the world did not give it. Somethings won’t make sense in your life, you’ll wonder how you’ve made it, it’s the unexplainable wonder of our God. Paul was writing this verse from a prison cell. It’s hard to talk about peace when all you see are bars and irons but it’s possible!

How many of us want the peace of God? To get this peace we need not to be anxious.

Paul is talking about some pretty heavy things in Romans 8:31 when he asks, “What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?”

If God is for us, who can be against us? We need to be thinking, if God’s on my side I’m good and walk away from problems with a smile, a certain swag to each step.

In verse 32 we now read, “He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all—how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things?”

Now in verses that follows he starts listing things to remind us of God’s very present help, “No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, [39] neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

We can put a blank here, fill in the blanks and make it our own. Not bankruptcy, not homelessness, not addiction, not joblessness, whatever it is NONE of it will be able to separate us.

Be anxious for NO thing.

I want you to do that this week. If what you’re struggling with doesn’t fit in Paul’s list that’s what the blank is for, get personal with it.

This week’s song is You Make Me Brave by Amanda Cook & Bethel Music

Lyrics:
(verse 1)
I stand before You now
The greatness of your renown
I have heard of the majesty and wonder of you
King of Heaven, in humility, I bow

(Chorus)
As Your love, in wave after wave
Crashes over me, crashes over me
For You are for us
You are not against us
Champion of Heaven
You made a way for all to enter in

(Verse 2)
I have heard You calling my name
I have heard the song of love that You sing
So I will let You draw me out beyond the shore
Into Your grace
Your grace

(Bridge)
You make me brave
You make me brave
You call me out beyond the shore into the waves
You make me brave
You make me brave
No fear can hinder now the love that made a way

You make me brave
You make me brave
You call me out beyond the shore into the waves
You make me brave
You make me brave
No fear can hinder now the promises you made
x2

(Chorus)
As Your love, in wave after wave
Crashes over me, crashes over me
For You are for us
You are not against us
Champion of Heaven
You made a way for all to enter in
x2

2 thoughts on “You Make Me Brave

Leave a Reply

