Joy Is Not Optional

J-O-Y, joy in the holy ghost!

Happy Music Monday ❤

Have you ever just felt sad? Like you need to find something to do, someone to be around in order to feel a sense of joy? Many of us continue to think this way, that joy is subjective. The Word speaks to us having this joy deep in our soul, when God breathed the breathe of life in us joy came with the package, in Jeremiah 15:16 “Your words were found, and I ate them, and your words became to me a joy and the delight of my heart, for I am called by your name, O Lord, God of hosts.”

There are several scriptures that speak on Joy in the Bible but not only do they touch on the subject of joy but they tell us that we inherently have it! The goal of every Christian should not be happiness because the Bible never promises happiness to the believer but joy. While happiness is temporary and is very much based upon happenings, joy comes from the Lord and you can still experiences joy during trials, suffering, and tests. Joy is permanent but happiness is fleeting. Joy is not a garnish to a meal but the key component to a fine cuisine.

James 1:2-3 “Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness.”

With JOY comes REJOICING:

Isaiah 12:6 “Shout, and sing for joy, O inhabitant of Zion, for great in your midst is the Holy One of Israel.”

Joy is not optional, it’s possible. For one, joy is commanded all over the Bible. It was commanded of God’s first-covenant people, Israel. It then went on to be commanded to all nations and their Maker. In the New Testament, God himself, in full manhood, doesn’t change his tune once he’s become the “man of sorrows” in our fallen world but he too commands our joy as much as anyone, and gives us even more reason to rejoice. If this was not convincing enough there’s Paul. Paul made an appeal to the churches in a letter: “Rejoice in hope. . . . Rejoice with those who rejoice” (Romans 12:1215). “Finally, brothers, rejoice” (2 Corinthians 13:11). “Rejoice always” (1 Thessalonians 5:16). “Be glad and rejoice with me” (Philippians 2:18). “Rejoice in the Lord” (Philippians 3:1). “Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice” (Philippians 4:4).

I conclude with a verse that makes me think of Christ’s return.  Can you imagine how joyful that will be for us someday when we see Christ and we are finally in the Kingdom of Heaven?  It won’t just be a song that we sing but we will shout for joy! Have you ever been so joyful that you let out a shout? I did when my hard work paid off and I got accepted into the University of Toronto, as well as when I got a promotion after 2 months at a new job! When we see Jesus, we can multiply that as an exponent to the nth power. But if we lack this joy here on earth how do we expect to spend all of eternity shouting for joy at the great works of our Lord? When Jesus returns, He will say one of two things to you, “Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master” (Matt 25:28) or the later, a place where no joy resides (Matt 25:26).

This weeks song is Joy by Vashawn Mitchell

Lyrics:
There’s beauty in my brokenness,
I’ve got true love instead of pain
There’s freedom though you’ve captured me,
I’ve got joy instead of mourning

You give me joy
Down deep in my soul [x3]
You give me joy
Down deep in my soul [x3]

I never been so free
Caught in your love for me
I never been more secure
Knowing your heart, Lord

5 thoughts on “Joy Is Not Optional

  1. Often happiness is a desire that people want, myself included. Yet true joy comes from God and knowing that as believers, we
    are adopted into His Kingdom. Thanks for this post and for being His faithful servant!

    Like

Leave a Reply

