[ID]entity

After a missed week of Music Monday, I’m back with a topic heavily covered during my week away at camp. After being heavily emerged in nature and the great outdoors it was amazing to drown out the noise of the bustling world and find ourselves in a still environment where God’s voice can be heard crystal clear. In this stillness us campers were able to know who we are in God’s eyes.

Your personal identity – how you see yourself – is often shaped by early experiences in life. There are worldy and at-home factors. Maybe you were rejected or abused. If so, I can relate. It didn’t start until my late teens when I identified myself as worthless from being verbally and emotionally abused by the one’s who had a great influence in my life. I carried those emotional wounds into my young adult years and it threatened my identity. I forgot who I was and was then indirectly forgetting who I served.

Once I began taking the WORLD out of it and brining in the WORD I remembered what God said, “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new” (2 Corinthians 5:17). It took me a while to hold onto the “new creation reality.” I was living out of my own mind, will and emotions, which were all damaged. Jesus had paid the price for my total deliverance, but I had no idea how to receive His gracious gift until I realized that my identity was known in Christ from before I was even formed.

Jeremiah 1:5 reads, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”

What is ID?:
“The part of the mind in which innate instinctive impulses and primary processes are manifest”

What is an entity?:
“A thing with distinct and independent existence”

Now let’s ask… who are you? Are you what you do; an artist, an accountant, a teacher, a mother? Or are you what you achieve; an honour student, an MVP, a winner? Are you the things you’ve done right? Or are you defined by the things you’ve done wrong?  Are you a saint, a sinner? What about what others think of you; are you all of these things or none of these things? Who are you? How you identify yourself determines how you approach life. If you are what you do you’ll always need to do more and define yourself on achievements. But, if you are what others say you’ll always try and please people instead of your Heavenly Father. But, if you listen to who God says you are you’ll find your true identity. He says:

You are His child (John 1:12)
You are wise and restored (1 Corinthians 1:30)
You are a brand new creation (2 Corinthians 5:17 )
You are chosen, holy and blameless (Ephesians 1:4)
You are His masterpiece (Ephesians 2:10)
You are loved (1 Thessalonians 1:4)
You are made complete through the grace and mercy of Jesus (2 Corinthians 12:9)

When you see yourself the way God sees you, you walk with confidence because you trust the one who answers the question… who am I?

Let’s say HELLO to our new identity that can only be found in Christ!

This weeks song is Hello by Dr. R.A. Vernon and the World Church

Lyrics:
Who am I that you would come and see me
I’m overwhelmed can’t catch my breathe can hardly breath
I’m excited I can’t sit down I feel your spirit all around
I’m expecting a fresh anointing to fill this place right now

Hello, Hello
Hello, Hello

You are welcome
You are welcome in this place oh God
You are welcome
You are welcome in this place oh God

We can’t hold back so glad you’re here we feel your love in this atmosphere (repeat)

2 thoughts on “[ID]entity

Leave a Reply

