You Covered Us

Happy Music Monday!

Is it just me or did this past week fly by? The allure of the weekend is definitely there but there’s something about Monday’s that gets me giddy. Lets make this week a great one filled with good vibes and the Word. May this weeks post reside in you all for this week ❤

A while back there was an article published outlining a burned bird in a forest fire. A ranger who found this bird literally petrified in ashes at the base of a tree was desperate to help. He gently moved the bird with a stick and when he did, some baby chicks scurried out from under their dead mother’s wings. We see an example of this loving mother, aware of the fire about the descend upon them, carried her chicks to the base of the tree and gathered them under her wings. Inside of flying to safety to save herself alone she covered her chicks with and wings and saved them instead of herself.

This story reminds me of Jesus and how He covers us with His wings. Psalm 91:4 says, “He will cover you with His feathers, and under His wings you will find refuge.” He died to that we could be forgiven and have eternal life. The promises of God’s word remind us that His covering did not stop with Jesus’ death and resurrection.

We also see his covering when Adam and Eve sinned in the garden, they became aware of something they had previously had no realization of – God’s provision. When they sinned they became aware of God’s provision because that’s when they realized they were naked. Genesis 2:25 reads, “The man and his wife were both naked and were not ashamed.” Now there is shame. Why? Suddenly they are self-conscious about their bodies. Before their rebellion against God, there was no shame. Why then the shame? Because the foundation of covenant-keeping love collapsed. And with it the sweet, all-trusting security of marriage disappeared forever. Keeping love between a man and a woman is the unbroken covenant between them and God—God governing them for their good and they enjoying him in that security and relying on him. When they ate from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, that covenant was broken because they went against God who was the foundation of their own covenant.They now needed help with their nakedness and God even given their sin and broken covenant swooped in and covered them. Genesis 3:7 says, “Then the eyes of both of them  were opened, and they realized they were naked; so they sewed fig leaves together and made coverings for themselves.”

Along with the covering of our nakedness He covered us with His blood. We see the use of covering with blood on many occasions. Exodus 12:7 says, “And they shall take of the blood, and strike it on the two side posts and on the upper door post of the houses, wherein they shall eat it.” On this night wherein they were to go out of Egypt, each family was to kill a lamb. This lamb was to be eaten in the manner here directed, and the blood to be sprinkled on the door-posts, to mark the houses of the Israelites from those of the Egyptians. The angel of the Lord, when destroying the first-born of the Egyptians, would pass over the houses marked by the blood of the lamb: hence the name of this holy feast or ordinance. Their safety and deliverance were not a reward of their own righteousness, but the gift of mercy and covering.

We are not covered by figs and leaves like Adam and Eve were. We are covered with His blood, righteousness, mercy and grace. Like the bird with her chicks, Jesus spread his wings and is still spreading them to shield us while also bleeding and dying for us! It’s not because of anything we did that makes God cover us for in Romans 4:7-8 (NIV) he said “Blessed are they whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered. Blessed is the man whose sin the Lord will never count against him.”

For He made you worthy so set out this week and forever to live under HIS covering, not covering up but being covered.

This weeks song is You Covered Me by R.A Vernon & The Word Church Praise Team

Lyrics:
I don’t wanna sing the latest song
I don’t want to percolate the crowd
I just wanna make you smile
I don’t care who thinks I’m right or wrong
I don’t care who tries to calm me down
I just wanna praise you now

You covered me in the midst of it all
You love me
Gave me another chance
You saw my needs when others saw my faults
You forgave me

I don’t have to listen for my name
They don’t have to walk me down the aisle
I just wanna make you proud
Should I make the hall of fame
Or they save a special seat
I just hope that you’ll be pleased

You covered me in the midst of it all
You love me
Gave me another chance
You rescued me I was going to fall
You saved me
(So in my life)
In my life Be glorified Be glorified (Repeat)

You get the glory
You get the praise
You take the honour
(I just want to say) thanks (4x)

(I’ve come back to say)

Thank you
Thank you Lord
Thank you (For everything you’ve done) (4x)
You get the glory You get the praise You take the honour (I just want to say)
Thank you (4x)

Leave a Reply

