What Does it Really Mean to Love?

This Music Monday is a special one to me, it’s the day my beautiful cousin starts her new day as a wife to a wonderful man of God so with a beautiful wedding yesterday and a new marriage today it’s only fitting to dedicate this week’s post to love.

What does it really mean to love?

1 Corinthians 13:4-8King James Version (KJV)

Charity suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up,
Doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil;
Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth;
Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things.
Charity never faileth: but whether there be prophecies, they shall fail; whether there be tongues, they shall cease; whether there be knowledge, it shall vanish away.

The question posed above is how the world likes to question love, without acknowledging the true source of love, GOD. This is the reason the growing statistics of failing marriages… God isn’t in the mix. Let’s rephrase this question, [What does it really mean to love like Christ?]. You can’t get to the wedding day, the marriage, the anniversary without loving like Christ.

Put those cosmos, magazines, and self-help books down because there’s a greater source to guarantee a prosperous love life… the Word and no I didn’t miss an L, Word not World.

5 Ways to Love like Christ:
1. Forgive: Forgiveness is a choice and not a feeling, which takes time. One of the hardest people to forgive is ourselves. When the wrongs we committed can’t be justified in our minds; our hearts hold us accountable. But Jesus has already forgiven us and if He forgives us for every sin we need to forgive ourselves so we can forgive others. Forgiving ourselves is the first step. “Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.” (Ephesians 4:32)
2. Sacrifice: This world would love for you to believe sacrifice is the weak way out. That we must hold on to what we believe and not rest until we get what we want. This is all so wrong. Putting our own needs, desires and wants aside to focus on other people’s needs and wants is so crucial in a loving relationship. This can be as simple as allowing someone to go ahead of us in line or giving another driver room. “Therefore, I urge you, brother and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God – this is your true and proper worship.” (Romans 12:1)
3. Pray: PRAYER! PRAYER! PRAYER! Can you tell that I see this as a very important step?! Praying for not only yourself but people is an act of unconditional love. Especially when praying for our enemies. “But I say, love your enemies! Pray for those who persecute you! In that way, you will be acting as true children of your Father in heaven. For he gives his sunlight to both the evil and the good, and he sends rain on the just and the unjust alike.” (Matthew 5:44-45)
4. Share the good news: Christianity isn’t a secret club. It isn’t exclusive to the rich and famous. To love is to go and tell the world about Jesus! We won’t always feel comfortable or accepted; but it’s about sharing the message and hope of Jesus Christ for the purpose of reaching souls for the Kingdom of God. “He said to them, ‘Go into the entire world and preach the gospel to all creation.'” (Mark 16:15)
5. Be humble: Humility teaches us off our own minds and from holding a first place position. Being humble requires saying no to pride that wants to over-ride our “Christ-like” attitude. “Pride goeth before destruction, and an haughty spirit before a fall.” (Proverbs 16:18)

With all couples following these few steps above the worsening statistics of marriage could make a dramatic turn for the better. But, it’s not only the marriages that have a new gloss to them but the wedding itself.

The primary difference between a Christian wedding and non-Christian wedding is Christ. Christians who marry are making a commitment to Christ, as well as to each other, and that commitment should be obvious to everyone who attends the wedding. In a non-Christian wedding, the couple—particularly the bride—is usually the focal point. In a Christian wedding, Christ is the focal point as seen last night from the non-secular, non-alcohol, and prayer filled wedding.

Let us change the way we look at love, weddings, and marriage xo
This week’s song is Love by Kirk Franklin

Lyrics:
Patient love, kind love, sweet love, kind love
Patient love, kind love, sweet love, kind love
Patient love, kind love, sweet love, kind love
Patient love, kind love, sweet love, kind love

Love, a word that comes and goes
But few people really know what it means to really love somebody
Love, though the tears may fade away, I’m so glad your love will stay
‘Cause I love you and you show me, Jesus, what it really means to love

Patient love, kind love, sweet love, kind love
Patient love, kind love, sweet love, kind love

Love, a word that comes and goes
But few people really know what it means to really love somebody
Love, though the tears may fade away, I’m so glad your love will stay
‘Cause I love you and you show me, Jesus, what it really means to love

The nights that I cry, you love me
When I should have died, you love me
I’ll never know why you love me
It’s a mystery to me now I’m glad to see Jesus

When all hope was gone, you love me
You gave me a song that you love me
Now I can go on ’cause you love me
It’s a mystery to me now I’m glad that I can see Jesus

The nights that I cry, you love me
When I should have died, you love me
I’ll never know why you love me
It’s a mystery to me now I’m glad that I can see Jesus

What it really means, what it really means
What it really means to love
Patient, patient, kind, kind, that’s love, to love
Patient, patient, kind, kind, that’s love

2 thoughts on “What Does it Really Mean to Love?

Leave a Reply

