This is the day the Lord made… me

“This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.” Psalm 118:24

Isn’t it any amazing feeling to know the day you were created the Lord made, with his perfect hands. He wonderfully crafted you and there’s no one or nothing that can take away that bliss, the bliss of being an original copy. Even being a twin and being blessed to share this day with the other millions born on May 19th like Malcom X (1925-1965) or Kevin Garnett I feel special.

Along the way I started looking at the very day the Lord made me as a little less important, I started comparing myself to the other millions or huge figures born on the day I held so high making a name for themselves.

I remember the simple pleasures like playing a game of Snakes and Ladders, having a relaxed birthday party, and getting some much needed one-on-one time with mom, dad and sisters. Then came themed birthday parties, those were my favourite. My big day no longer became about myself but impressing those around me and that need began to take precedence over the actual birthday celebration.

This year even growing the ripe age of 21 I seemingly kept my adolescent way of thinking. I’m not where I thought I’d be in life. I envisioned my life looking different. 21, I was suppose to have 21 degrees, drive 21 cars, and make 21 figures. My birthday blues are linked to this whole, “what will people think” mindset that followed me from my youth with all those lavish birthday parties, loot bags and outfits.

This year, this day, this birthday I’m clinging to a newish “old saying”: “Growing old is hard, but it beats the alternative.” Although nicely put the author of that adage doesn’t have the wisdom of Paul who said, “To live is Christ, and to die is gain” (Philippians 1:21), whether death comes today, or after 100 years there may be birthdays, milestones I won’t get to see and for that I am humbled, grateful and blessed for THIS day.

Birthdays are a good reminder of what God has given us. In fact, reminders are biblical; God commanded the Israelites to set up stones to remind them of what God has done for them (Joshua 4:1–7). So instead of looking to what we don’t have, who we don’t have let us choose to look at what we do have and who we have! With this new thinking there will be no birthday we choose not to celebrate.

It’s time to see the day the Lord has made and… REJOICE !

4 thoughts on “This is the day the Lord made… me

  1. Happy birthday Beautiful!! I’m inspired by what you’ve written…needed to readjust my thinking..Thanks and God bless😘

    Like

Leave a Reply

