Come, All Who Are Weary

Where has the time gone? Monday already 🙂

Welcome, all who are broken and weary!

Weariness, we all experience it in different ways and for different reasons.

Sometimes we can point to a significant factor, but often we can’t. Our weariness results from the cumulative, multilayered intersections of life and its complexities: physical emotional, and spiritual.

Because our burdens are not easily defined or simple they cannot be relieved by simplistic platitudes (“Cheer up! Tomorrow is a new day!”). But, a simple promise can relieve a complex burden if we believe the power behind the promise to relieve our heaviness. This power, this relief only comes from God and His Word.

Many are roaming the world looking for this relief in every other place but the Word, and as a result spend years in brokenness and weariness. If we’d all just come to God we can say hello to peace and goodbye to weariness.

His Word puts it clearly:

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30)

The simplicity of God’s promise is refreshing. If we would come to him immediately like he warned instead of making detours like a four-fold path to peace, like the Buddha did. Or, using the five pillars of peace through submission as Islam does. Maybe even studying “10 Ways to Relieve Your Weariness,” the self-help-oriented steps the 21st century are so drawn to. We don’t need any of these detours when we’ve got Jesus. Unique to anyone else in human history, Jesus simply offers himself as the universal solution to all that burdens us and what’s even more striking is He’s all we need.

We know that when Jesus said, “come to me,” he meant, “believe in who I claim to be and therefore what I am able to do for you.”

This is the hard part. This is where we are put to the ultimate test. Will we believe in him; will we trust him? The problem with us is that we want to rest our souls on the knowledge of how it will be done and when our burdens will be addressed. But Jesus does not provide those details. He simply promises us that they will be addressed.

Our souls can only find rest when we have hope and our hope should be in Jesus, completely.

Blessings xo

This weeks song is Come To Me by Jenn Johnson & Bethel Music

Lyrics:
I am the Lord your God, I go before you now
I stand beside you, I’m all around you
Though you feel I’m far away, I’m closer than your breath
I am with you, more than you know

I am the Lord your peace, no evil will conquer you
Steady now your heart and mind, come into My rest
Oh, let your faith arise, lift up your weary head
I am with you wherever you go

Come to Me, I’m all you need.
Come to Me, I’m everything
Come to Me, I’m all you need.
Come to Me, I’m your everything

I am your anchor, in the wind and the waves
I am your steadfast, so don’t be afraid
Though your heart and flesh may fail you, I’m your faithful strength
I am with you wherever you go

Come to Me, I’m all you need.
Come to Me, I’m your everything
Come to Me, I’m all you need.
Come to Me, I’m your everything

Don’t look to the right or to the left but keep your eyes on Me
You will not be shaken, you will not be moved ooh
I am the hand to hold, I am the truth, I am the way
Just come to Me, come to Me, cause I’m all that you need

Leave a Reply

