Grace Wins

Welcome back to another Music Monday message!

First, I’d like to wish my best friend Kyle a Happy Birthday! Birthdays are something many take lightly, their countdown begins months before the actual day. Some may say that’s silly, that we don’t know what life will throw us and that’s true but what we do know is that with God Grace WINS. Everyday of our countdown to another year God is making sure Grace wins, not our sins.

Here’s a word from the songwriter of this week, Matthew West, on the story behind the song (http://www.newreleasetoday.com/article.php?article_id=1687):
A huge part of my creative process has been based on the stories of people’s lives. Songwriting is storytelling. I’ve collected over 40,000 stories at this point. All the songs that I’ve been writing over the last several years were inspired by somebody’s personal story. Of these songs, two have stood out to me because the stories that pushed me to write them are so intertwined: “Hello, My Name Is” and “Grace Wins.” “Hello My Name Is” was inspired by a young guy named Jordan who wrote to me and said, “Hello My Name Is Jordan, and I’m a drug addict.” Jordan’s story was ultimately a redemption story because he decided not to live his life as an addict, but to go get the help he needed to overcome his addiction. I then sang “Hello, My Name Is” on tour, sharing Jordan’s story with thousands and thousands of people at concerts all around the country. When I got home, I found another hard-hitting letter from a fan that would become the inspiration for “Grace Wins,” which is a song about rising from defeat and believing you can overcome anything negative that’s happened in your life. This letter came from a young man named Robert.

He said, “My name’s Robert. I was at your concert, and you sang a song and told a story about somebody battling addiction and it hit my heart because I’m just like that. I want to be a child of the One True King and can you help me?” Turns out this young man was addicted to heroin and he wound up at my concert sort of by accident, but all of a sudden something touched his heart and he decided he was going to reach out for help as he hadn’t found redemption yet. He was still in the defeat of his addiction. My dad is a minister, and together we were able to get on the phone with this young man and get him into the same recovery program that the other guy graduated from. That’s what made me write the song “Grace Wins.”

The message we get from this song is that if we were perfect, there would be no need for grace. Grace goes hand in hand with imperfection or flaws. As a child I didn’t understand grace, why was it there when we were suppose to live perfect lives. As I grew older I realized we unrealistically place pressure on ourselves to live a perfect life. There is only One who lived a perfect life, and He is the One who gave His life so we imperfect people could find grace in the hope of a new beginning. The message sent is not perfection, but making proof of a perfect God:”Then the name of our Lord Jesus will be honored because of the way you live, and you will be honored along with Him. This is all made possible because of the grace of our God and Lord, Jesus Christ” (2 Thessalonians 1:12). When you say “I’m living proof that grace wins every time,” you are saying to all those who hear, “I’m far from perfect, but let me tell you about God who is perfect. He’s the One who changed my life, and He’s the reason I can sing about grace.”

My hope in these songs on Music Monday is to tell stories through song and to help empower people to tell their story to help change the world. After all, when you look at Scripture, the focus is story. That’s how Jesus preached to the masses.

This week’s song is Grace Wins by Matthew West

Lyrics:
In my weakest moment I see You
Shaking Your head in disgrace
I can read the disappointment
Written all over Your face

Here come those whispers in my ear
Saying, “who do you think you are?”
Looks like you’re on your own from here
‘Cause grace could never reach that far

But in the shadow of that shame
Beat down by all the blame
I hear You call my name saying it’s not over
And my heart starts to beat so loud now
Drowning out the doubt
I’m down, but I’m not out

There’s a war between guilt and grace
And they’re fighting for a sacred space
But I’m living proof
Grace wins every time
No more lying down in death’s defeat
Now I’m rising up in victory
Singing, hallelujah
Grace wins every time

Words can’t describe the way it feels
When mercy floods a thirsty soul
The broke inside begins to heal
And grace returns what guilty stole

And in the shadow of that shame
Beat down by all the blame
I hear You call my name saying it’s not over
And my heart starts to beat so loud now
Drowning out the doubt
I’m down, but I’m not out

There’s a war between guilt and grace
And they’re fighting for a sacred space
But I’m living proof
Grace wins every time
No more lying down in death’s defeat
Now I’m rising up in victory
Singing, hallelujah

Grace wins every time

For the prodigal son
Grace wins
For the woman at the well
Grace wins
For the blind man and the beggar
Grace wins
For always and forever
Grace wins
For the lost out on the streets
Grace wins
For the worst part of you and me
Grace wins
For the thief on the cross
Grace wins
For a world that is lost

There’s a war between guilt and grace
And they’re fighting for a sacred space
But I’m living proof
Grace wins every time
No more lying down in death’s defeat
Now I’m rising up in victory
Singing, hallelujah
Grace wins every time, every time
Yeah, I’m living proof
Grace wins every time

Leave a Reply

