We Need a Saviour

“Lecrae” (Moore) is a rapper, record-producer and actor. He speaks for many of us when he says, ‘I’m not a Christian because I’m strong and have it all together. I’m a Christian because I’m weak and admit I need a saviour.’

The world is looking for a saviour, with tragedy and misery all around they’re in need of one. The amazing truth of Christianity is that in Jesus we do have a saviour: we need to call out to God, our Saviour, look to Jesus as our Saviour and worship the Saviour of the world.

Psalm 35
Call Out to God your Saviour
At any time, you can call out to God for help.

Life is a battle. If we wave God’s flag there are bound to be those who are looking to tear it down. David prays that God would contend with those who contend against him (v.1).

He prays, ‘Fight against those who fight against me… arise and come to my aid… Say to me, “I am your salvation”’ (vv.1-3).

When you are under attack it is easy to feel that it must be your fault. But twice David repeats that their desire to trap him was ‘without cause’ (v.7). These oppositions don’t always come because you are doing something wrong but something right.

Your enemies may be stronger than you. David faced many some hecklers others bullies the rest thugs trying to knife him in the back (v.4). Every time David calls out to God and prays for rescue (v.9).

Luke 2
Look to Jesus as your Saviour
Jesus is the Saviour of the world; even the angel had announced the birth of a ‘Saviour’ (v.11).

On the eighth day he was named ‘Jesus’ which means ‘the Lord saves.’ He was filled with wisdom, and the grace of God was on him’ (v.40). ‘Wisdom’ and ‘grace’ are characteristics of the Saviour that we should seek to imitate in our own lives.

We must then look to Jesus to be saved. Simeon takes Jesus in his arms and says to the Lord, ‘My eyes have seen your salvation’ (v.30). To see Jesus is to see salvation.

Numbers 7
Worship the Saviour of the world
All the offerings and sacrifices in the Law of Moses were but preparation and a foreshadowing of the birth and death of the Saviour. No longer does God dwell in a tent in our midst, he has come to live among us as one of us.

Many years later, Jesus the Saviour abolished the need for all offerings and sacrifices of the Old Testament as a form of worship. Our worship comes in a new form. It comes in prayer, in meditation and in song.

God’s ultimate rescue is the salvation that is in Jesus. I love the song written by Ben Fielding and Reuben Morgan that celebrates salvation. Let’s use this song, these words for worship. This week’s song is Mighty to Save by Hillsong.

Lyrics:
Everyone needs compassion
A love that’s never failing, let mercy fall on me
Everyone needs forgiveness
The kindness of a Savior, the Hope of nations.

Savior, He can move the mountains
My God is mighty to save.
He is mighty to save.
Forever, author of Salvation
He rose and conquered the grave.
Jesus conquered the grave.

So take me as You find me–all my fears and failures.
Fill my life again.
I give my life to follow everything I believe in.
I surrender. (I surrender.)

Shine Your light and let the whole world see
We’re singing for the glory of the risen King, Jesus
Shine Your light and let the whole world see
We’re singing for the glory of the risen King.

Leave a Reply

