Prayer Saves Lives

 

It’s Monday, Monday, Monday *dances*

Yesterday I was speaking to a friend at church and told him I was praying for him. I didn’t know why but I felt it right to let him know this. He then revealed he just went through a test that would put on trial career path. I then asked him how he thought it went and he simply shook his head, unable to answer. As I questioned him further he answered with, “I don’t know.” I reminded him that prayer is the best way to “know” and asked him whether he was praying over this situation. He laughed and answered “no” that his parents were doing enough praying and that those same prayers are the reason he’s alive and well. I probed him, tried to get him to realize that as much as his parents and myself were praying for him and it seems to be having an impact what about those he could impact with the prayers he’s withholding? We all need someone to pray for us, but we also need to pray for others and OURSELVES.

F.B. Meyer quotes, “The great tragedy of life is not unanswered prayer, but un-offered prayer.”

Instead of prayer being something we do everyday, like breathing, eating, walking and talking we’ve placed it in a glass box and labeled it, “break in case of emergency.”

We must:

  1. Pray with Persistence

“Continue in prayer, and watch in the same with thanksgiving;

Withal praying also for us, that God would open unto us a door of utterance, to speak the mystery of Christ, for which I am also in bonds” (Colossians 4:2-3)

Paul devotes himself to the importance of prayer and why not? Prayer is talked about most often both in the Word and the world but done so little. You cannot be a good Christian and not pray just like you cannot have a good marriage if you do not talk to your spouse. Prayer is the pipeline of communication between God and His people, one that needs to be worked on everyday.

Now I know some are thinking… “Well I prayed a long prayer yesterday, that should be good enough to hold me for the week.” Please note that there is a difference between a persistent prayer and a long prayer. A person who is persistent in prayer does not have to pray for a long time, but they keep at it and don’t give up.

  1. Pray with Passion

If you are persistent in something it means you are passionate about it. Paul alludes to this when he warns for us to be vigilant, that we not be slothful in our prayer. This describes passionate prayer.

Jesus was passionate about His prayer life and every time we see Jesus praying He was praying with passion. There were even times when while He was praying His very appearance became different, His face and His clothing appeared white, gleaming (Luke 9:29). Passionate prayer enables us to experience the glory of God.

In Luke 23:24 as He hung on the cross – a life that is lived in passionate prayer will enable us to maintain that spirit, even in the most difficult of circumstances.

  1. Pray with Thanksgiving

Paul never fails to mention thankfulness.

Philippians 4:6 tells us to be anxious for nothing but in everything we should pray, giving thanks as we make our petitions known to God. For all my students out there, no test formed against you shall prosper if you pray and make your request known! There’s power in prayer!

Knowing the effect of prayer brings thanksgiving and generates humility.

  1. Pray, making Intercession

Intercessory prayer is basically praying for others, that God’s will is done in the lives of other people.

In Colossian 4 Paul wanted to be sure the Colossian Christians understood what it was they were to pray for. He wanted them to pray with a specific purpose. Like Jesus, he was concerned about others, their souls, their salvation and their sanctification. Our prayers should reflect this very thing. Paul wanted their prayers to be in accordance with God’s will, not simply after the greedy desires of someone living for this world (note that I said “for” this world and not “in” for we are all IN this world but Christian’s should not live FOR it).

I’d like to put more emphasis on intercessory prayer because it changes things.

You see, when you pray for others, when you pray for God’s work to be done in another’s life He will begin to use you and grow you in ways that will astonish those around you (this doesn’t mean that you must pray for others seeking for something for yourself but the exact opposite). It is when we pray for others that we will become more like Jesus because “Jesus interceded for us, asking the Father to send the Holy Spirit” (John 14:5), and as we become more like Jesus God will grow us more and more and use us more.

We MUST pray for others.

This week’s song is Prayer Saved My Life by James Fortune

Lyrics:
Have you ever needed someone, to Pray for you
Have you ever needed someone, to Encourage you
Have you ever needed someone, to stand with you through the storm
oooh I’ve been there
I could feel the prayers The prayers that you prayed,
They saved my life (2x)

If You need me I’ll be someone
who would pray for you
When I see you going through
I’ll be there for you

See we all get weak sometimes
So I’ll be here by your side
Cos I’ve been there
I didn’t Pray
I’ve been there
I didn’t Pray
Ooh I’ve been there
I didn’t Pray And the Prayers that you Prayed
They Saved My life

Thank You For Praying For Me
Thank You For Covering Me
Thank You For Loving Me You Prayers,
Your Prayers Saved My Life You Prayers
Saved My Life
This song reminds us of the necessity of prayer as it SAVES lives, it is the light at the end of the tunnel.

Be blessed 🙂

Leave a Reply

