Just Say Yes

Monday, we meet again!

Happy Monday folks 🙂

Life sometimes seems like a shell game. It moves faster than you can keep track of and what you reach for is often disappointingly empty. For many people life feels like a big gamble or like a cruel con game. As the Psalmist says,

“…I was envious of the arrogant; I saw the prosperity of the wicked….They are not in trouble as others are; they are not plagued like other people. Therefore pride is their necklace; violence covers them like a garment… hey scoff and speak with malice; loftily they threaten oppression. They set their mouths against heaven, and their tongues range over the earth. Therefore the people turn and praise them, and find no fault in them. And they say, ‘How can God know? Is there knowledge in the Most High?’ Such are the wicked; always at ease, they increase in riches.” [Ps 73:3-10]

We’ve all read the Psalms that promises prosperity to the righteous, and we’ve heard the lament of those whose righteousness have gone unrewarded.

This morning we are learning from one of Jesus’ parables about saying yes to God. Two sons are asked by their father to work in the vineyard. The first son defied his dad by saying he would not go. But later, he had a change of heart and he ended up going to work in the vineyard as his father had requested. The second son quickly agreed to his dad’s request, but he didn’t follow through on his promise and he never went to the vineyard.

So we see one son who said yes with his words but said no with his actions. The other son said no with his words but said yes with his actions. But whether they say yes to God with words or they say yes to God with actions, both are possible because God first said yes to us.

The very act of God becoming human in the person of Jesus Christ was the amazing act of God saying yes to humanity. And this act of God saying yes to us has been understood and celebrated since the very earliest church gathered, God wants to celebrate our YES.

One of the things that you will see as you study the Scriptures is that God keeps stretching out his timely hand, if we’d just say yes. Remember that Abraham was promised land along with his descendants. God waited to give them Isaac until Sarah was so old that the very idea of her getting pregnant made them laugh out loud. God’s time is not ours. If we’d just trust and obey ready to say yes to whatever it is God’s is calling us into we’d see our reward.

Remember, God’s values aren’t ours! Let us evaluate the things we’re waiting for, praying for, crying for… are they in line with God’s values? If material possessions were actually good for us, would Jesus have said, “it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for someone who is rich to enter the kingdom of God” (Matthew 19:24)?

Life is not a shell game or a con game. Life is a gift and a journey, where we are given direction and help. And the help we have is the very Spirit of God. We do not receive the Spirit just by saying “no” to a list prohibited actions. We receive him by saying YES to the call of God, and YES to the commands of God.

Tools to saying “yes”:

  • Say YES to the Lord’s words by praying. Pray for understanding.
  • Say YES to God’s words. Agree with God about what He says.
  • Say YES to God’s way. You cannot control who knocks on your door but you can control who you let in!
  • Say YES to God’s promise.

This week’s song is I’ll Just Say Yes by Brian Courtney Wilson

Lyrics:
I’ll just say yes
You lead the way
I’m not afraid of what it means for me to say
That this life You gave
Is not my own
I’m trusting You to hear my yes and lead me on

Yes Lord, yes Lord, my life is Yours

I’ll just say yes (yes Lord). You lead the way (yes Lord)
I’m not afraid of what it means for me to say
(that this life You gave) this life You gave
(is not my own) is not my own
I’m trusting You to hear my yes and lead me on(yes Lord) yes Lord
(yes Lord) yes Lord
(my life) my life (is) is Yours
(yes Lord) yes Lord
(yes Lord) yes Lord
(my life) my life (is) is Yours

And there is peace when I say yes
I might not see it now but You save the best
For all who trust You and obey
There is an answer no more delay

(I’ll just say yes, yes Lord)
(yes Lord) yes Lord
(yes Lord) yes Lord
(my life) my life (is) is Yours (completely Yours)
(yes Lord) yes Lord
(yes Lord) yes Lord
(my life) my life (it is) is Yours

For all who trust You and obey
There is an answer no more delay
I’ll just say yes

 

Leave a Reply

