No Turning Back

Happy Monday and Happy FAMILY Day! ❤

Genesis 19:26 reads,

“But his wife looked back from behind him, and she became a pillar of salt”

I remember this time when I was a child and fascinated by everything and everyone during Church service. I remember sitting there in the pews one Sunday morning, preacher in front and friends behind. Any chuckle or faint conversation I heard behind peeked my interest and I’d turn around almost every time. I kid you not, I must’ve turned back at least 100 times leaving the word of God as a distant thing. I couldn’t even remember a word that was preached. Unlike myself it only took Lot’s wife one time looking back for her to be turned into a pillar of salt.

In Genesis 19 we are reminded that God loves us where we are reminded that God loves us where we are, but He doesn’t want to leave us there. But we cannot accomplish His plan if we continue looking back and secretly longing for that life we had before we knew Christ.

Don’t look back. Keep pressing on. Don’t look to the left or to the right. Keep your eyes forward. There is a good life lesson in this.

It’s a lesson we could all learn. It’s certainly one Lot’s wife should have learned.

It’s here in Genesis 19 that we see the most memorable and terrifying event in the life of Abraham’s nephew, Lot, and his family. Whoever said the ways of the Old Testament are irrelevant in todays day and age are wrong, we very much need this word to remind us to listen to the word and let that be our only focus.

Lot and his family allowed the sinfulness of the community around influence them. They didn’t take God or His word seriously that’s why Lot’s future sons-in-law laughed at him when he told them to get out of the city because God was going to destroy it. But God was merciful on them. He warned Lot and his family that the cities were about to be destroyed, Genesis 19:12&13

 Get out! Go! Hurry! Don’t stop! Don’t hesitate! Get as far away as you can – as fast as you can – or you’ll get caught up in the destruction. You get a sense that Lot and Company are delaying. That they’re dragging their feet. And God’s messengers are saying, “What part of ‘Flee’ do you not understand?!? Get out of here!”

What was their problem and why did it take them so long to get out of there?

Some may assume they dragged their feet because they didn’t want to leave Sodom, their home, but they forgot that their home is not on Earth nor our treasure but they are in heaven. Their hearts were in Sodom when it should’ve been in God.

As a result of a misplaced heart we get the shortest biography in all of history: Lot’s wife looked back and turned into a pillar of salt. We don’t know anything else about her other than the fact that she was married to Lot and she turned back. She heard the commotion behind and all that God promised to do, destroy the land, and looked. Don’t get distracted saints.

She was offered salvation on one condition, not turning back, and didn’t take it.

When Jesus came to give Himself as a sacrifice for our sins, He came to rescue us from the destructive paths we were on. Like Lot’s family we pitched our tents and made this world our home. We were doomed the same fate of Sodom and Gomorrah. But God has given us an escape route through Jesus.

We cannot drag our feet. We cannot turn back and secretly long for the lifestyle we once had before we came to know God.

It’s time to turn the page to the next chapter of your life… and not turn back.

This week’s song is I Have Decided

Lyrics:

  1. I have decided to follow Jesus;
    I have decided to follow Jesus;
    I have decided to follow Jesus;
    no turning back, no turning back.
  1. Though none go with me, I still will follow;
    though none go with me, I still will follow;
    though none go with me, I still will follow;
    no turning back, no turning back.
  1. My cross I’ll carry, till I see Jesus;
    my cross I’ll carry, till I see Jesus;
    my cross I’ll carry, till I see Jesus;
    no turning back, no turning back.
  1. The world behind me, the cross before me;
    the world behind me, the cross before me;
    the world behind me, the cross before me;
    no turning back, no turning back.

In order to follow Jesus we must leave the world behind us and place the cross before us, no turning back!

Leave a Reply

