Running Through the 6 with my God

Run ‘Til You Finish

Drake, haven’t you heard? Instead of running through the 6 with your woes, lay down your woes as revealed in Mathew 23 and run with God.

“Let us lay aside every encumbrance and sin which so easily entangles us and let us run the race that is set before us” (@JohnPiper)

The sentence above reveals a couple of things said here as a means to running, it says, lay aside every encumbrance and sin, which so easily entangles us. It is not just sin, don’t just lay aside sins to run this race, lay aside every other weight that gets in the way. Don’t just ask, “Is it a sin?” That’s just about the worst question to ask.

Rather, ask… “Does it help me run?”

“Does it get in my way when I’m trying to be more patient, more kind, more gentle, more loving, more pure, more self-controlled?”

“Does it get in my way?”

Look to Jesus and lay aside sins for sure and lots of other stuff. And a little voice is going to say; this looks like a lot of loss and not much gain. At that point open your bible to Hebrews 12:2 and look at how Jesus in Gethsemane said, “Tomorrow morning is going to be a lot of loss.” How did he do that? For the Joy that was set before him he endured the cross. So the answer is, yes there’s going to be loss. But God’s Word confirms the Christian life is gain.

Hebrews 12:1 reminds us to lay aside every encumbrance, “Let us also law aside every encumbrance, and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us.” This command does not come out of the blue. This is the point of the Bible, to endure, preserve, run, fight, be alert, be strengthened, don’t drift, don’t neglect, don’t be sluggish, don’t take your eternal security for granted.

God said for us to focus on things above, not on early things. As you run saints look to the sky which cometh your help for if you look to the ground (the Earth) surely you’ll see no help. Let us be so focused in this love relationship that we do not even notice anything else. We’re just so focused on Jesus and thinking about eternal things, that’s the idea! We have to run toward the Author and the Perfecter; we have to fix our eyes on him so that while all these things are ding-a-ling in our face but we don’t even notice it. There’s one reason why you should walk away from whatever temptation you are facing… God is better. There’s not even a comparison.

Say to the flesh and say to Satan, “the sufferings of this life are not worth comparing to the GLORY that is to be revealed to me. And so, I will lay aside every weight and I will lay aside every sin and I will run with Jesus, not from Jesus.”

Like you plan for a marathon or triathlon, plan your run with Jesus.

Hebrews 12:1: “Let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.”

This week’s song is Run ‘Til I Finish by Smokie Norful

Lyrics
I have decided
Determined, I’m committed
That I’ll run
No matter the cost

And I have decided
Determined, I’m committed
That I’ll run
Even though at times I may get lost

I’m going to finish my race
I’m going to take my proper place
In the winning circle

I’m going to run anyway
I don’t know where or when or how
But I know that I’m going to make it

Ohh, I’ll run this race
Nestled safely in amazing grace
I’ve made up my mind and I don’t have much time
But I’ll run, till I finish

I’m going to run this race
I’m going to take my proper place
In the winning circle

And I’m going to run anyway
I don’t know where, I don’t know when or how
But I know
I’m going to make it

Ohh, I’ll run this race
Nestled safely in amazing grace
I made up my mind, I don’t have much time
So I’ll run, till I finish

Ohh, I made up my mind
I don’t have much time
But I’m gonna run
I’m gonna run, I’m gonna run till I finish

Yeah, I made up my mind
I don’t have much time
But I’ll run till I finish

 

Leave a Reply

