Pray For Me

It’s the most wonderful time of the week… MONDAY

“Judging me is not helping me to grow.
Pray for me.
The wrong I’ve done I already know.”

I’m afraid I haven’t been completely honesty with all of you. I’m still facing my challenges and fall into a cycle of sin. It gets hard to even wake up on a Sunday morning and walk into a sacred church feeling like a sinner. That’s a common mistake many of us believers go through, we keep everything bottled in and think we can do it all on our own.

My complete, uncensored, testimony of working two jobs, taking a semester off, and low self-esteem is on its way.

Prayer is the only thing that can help us.

The grace of the gospel confronts us with the truth and says: You are a sinner, a great, desperate sinner; now come as the sinner you are, to the God who loves you.”

Most of us agree that confession of sin, grounded in the gospel, is a vital component of our personal spirituality. But we get a little uncomfortable when it comes to confession. We must remind ourselves of James 5:16, “Confess your sins to one another and pray for one another that you may be healed.”

Three Reasons We Avoid Confession

Our failure to engage in the corporate dimension of confession stems from three possible sources

  1. What Will They Think?

There is a disconnect between our so-called public and private lives. We fear what people may think of us if we really told them our secret thoughts.

  1. Whom Do We Fear?

The second source is misplaced fear. Tragically, we more greatly fear those who have also sinned before the one whose very presence is the splendor of holiness. He knows all the dimensions of our sinful heats (Psalm 44:20-21; Proverbs 21:22; Luke 16:14-15). From him we cannot hide (Jeremiah 23:24). Isn’t it insane to fear those who will shame us than the one who will one day appear and the secrets of our hearts will be disclosed (Luke 12:45; 8:17; Romans 14:10).

  1. What Is Confession?

The first and second source is linked to a deficient understanding of what confession does. Confession is not optional for Christians.

Why We Confess

For Christians, confession of sin is ultimately the application of the gospel. If we really seek to repent and make right of our sins confession acknowledges our very real need for his sanctifying grace.

Finally, the Scripture also teach us the importance of community as it is applying and celebrating the gospel, together. Let us remember that confession to one another guards us from absolving ourselves without true repentance (2 Corinthians 7:10).

This week’s song goes out to Kirk Franklin’s “Pray For Me”

Lyrics:
Pray for me, I’m afraid that I’m about to lose it all
Pray for me, I don’t need gravity for tears to fall
You can keep your fancy words and your coloured lies
Nothing super-spiritual not this time, just pray for me
Cause judging me is not helping me to grow
Pray for me, see the wrong I’ve done I already know
Will you love me if I’m dirty and I’ve lost my way
Till the blood is washed me white and I’m no longer grey
If I don’t need your approval will you let me stay, and pray for me

Pray for me [x3]
Pray for me
Please pray for me
Let’s pray!

Our Father who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name
Thy kingdom come, thy will be done on earth as it in heaven
Give us our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses
As we forgive those who have trespassed against us
Lord lead us not into temptation but deliver us
From evil for thine is thy kingdom, power and the glory forever
We are asking (We are asking you to)

 

3 thoughts on “Pray For Me

  1. Great post! Super relatable to me rightt now, in my own current situation. With the all the stresses of school and life just suffocating me, j just feel like if one more thing goes well wrong, I’ll just break! 😥 the worst part is I thought nd to keep all my problems and worriw to myself cause I either feel like I’m a bother to people and that my problems aren’t as important as other OR I simply assume people won’t understand me….so why bother. But this song and your post is a great reminder of having that support system and community to help me in prayer when my faith is running low! Thanks! Keep me in prayer!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

