No Shortcuts to Heaven

Ever since I was smaller shortcuts have been my thing. I’d take shortcuts to school as a child, which called for the deep trails of a forest surrounded by ponds and wilderness. While my sister often times would chicken out and take the long way with streets filled with children I’d toughen up and make my way every morning. Even after hearing about an incident with a young woman being attacked I still wouldn’t give up the shaved 15 minutes from my walk. Whenever my sister would finally make it to school grounds several minutes after me I’d meet her with a sly smile and every time she warned me no good can come out of taking shortcuts. If only I took her 10 years old advice. Years later my shortcuts came evolved. When my mother would insist that I clean my room, which was always covered in clothes, I found the quick solution and stuffed the clothes underneath my bed. It worked too, until my mother noticed a pant leg sticking out from under my bed and found my hiding spot. My shortcuts even spiraled to the way I used a computer, from copy and pasting to all the other quick tricks.

Just this morning I learned the hardest, yet needed lesson in my life of shortcuts. Several days ago I decided I wanted to get my G license and wasted no time. I went online found a website the guaranteed a completed G license in a couple days. Before I knew it I was inputting my info, credit card included and booked my test for Sunday, November 22nd. Later that day I saw a charge of $90.00 on my account, much higher than I expected but if it guaranteed a shortcut to the license process I was A-OK. Several minutes after I sent an email asking for the time of my appointment and the only response I got was notifying me that an additional $30.00 needs to be paid in order to receive a test date. I was shocked. I sent an email in response displaying my outrage and got a response stating that they were a private company that charges more for their services and fast bookings. That’s when the possibility of it being a scam came to me. When I received no answer to the time of my appointment my nerves were shot. I asked my family and best friend for help getting to the bottom of this and sure enough I found out the website I booked through was run by a scam company that pries on those looking for shortcuts like me. With my hard earned money in the pockets of scums I broke into tears. I called my bank and prayed for a way out of this predicament but I knew that was a farfetched dream. As I look back now, all the warning signs were there, I felt robbed and used but never again.

Despite this unfortunate experience God spoke to me. He revealed to me how detrimental my desire for shortcuts were going to be in my spiritual walk. He reminded me that there are no shortcuts to heaven.

Today’s world offers us shortcuts to almost everything. People have taken shortcuts to getting wealth (like the scammers!!!). There are reports of high officials and ordinary persons who have resorted to corruption, gambling, drug trade and other downright immoral and illegal acts in order to amass more and more wealth.

We also know of individual who took shortcuts to justice and killed, putting the law into their own hands.

Men have their own set of rules but it is only by following God’s law that we can enter God’s kingdom. And we often forget that there are no shortcuts to enter the kingdom of God or to receiving His power. God has written His instructions in one book: The Bible. In it he warns us against laziness (Proverbs 13:4) and impatience (James 5:7-8), the very reason for shortcuts.

“Don’t look for shortcuts to God. The market is flooded with surefire, easygoing formulas for a successful life that can be practiced in your spare time. Don’t fall for that stuff, even though crowds of people do.” – Matthew 7:13

It takes years for us to grow to adulthood, and it takes a full season for fruit to mature and ripen. The same is true for the fruit of the Spirit. The development of Christ-like character cannot be rushed. Spiritual growth, like physical growth, takes time. When you try to ripen fruit quickly, it loses its flavour.

While we worry about how fast we grow, God is concerned about how strong we grow. The more we look for shortcuts we are doing nothing but cutting our growth off and taking a longer route. God views our lives from and for eternity, so He is never in a hurry.

“And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally on the day when Christ Jesus returns.” (Philippians 1:6)

We must all walk the path He sets before us and seek the truth through faith and the working of the Holy Spirit.

WARNING
Road Test Booking Scam
There is a fake road test booking site called “Book Your Road Test”. This site will charge you a fee to book a test that does not exist.

… Learn from my mistakes 🙂

2 thoughts on “No Shortcuts to Heaven

Leave a Reply

