Gracious Tempest

“The Lord is gracious and righteous; our God is full of compassion. The Lord protects the unwary; when I was brought low, he saved me. Return to your rest, my soul, for the Lord has been good to you.”

Psalm 116:5-7

The Lord is our gracious tempest. Tempest is defined as a violent, windy storm. And gracious is derived from the word grace, which is in the Christian context means the love and mercy given to us by God because He desires us to have it and not because of anything we have done to earn it. So put it together, and you get a gracious, violent storm? A storm of love and mercy? Some may be asking how that can be. To me a storm sounds brutal and bad news to say the least. Whereas grace is good news – the best! So it’s strange that the two words are put together. They sound like they come from different ends of the bible. Gracious (New Testament), Tempest (Old Testament). Let’s rethink our thought of a storm; a storm really is uncontrollable, untamable, and relentless like God’s love. His love for us is extravagant, and His mercy is passionately extended to us.

Wow. Look at Jesus! His love is so LARGE

This Music Monday’s song is Gracious Tempest by Hillsong Young & Free

Lyrics:

Your love towers over me
Gracious tempest endless sea
Your love is like a storm

Endless tide of mercy rain
Let it flood in my heart again
Surround me like an ocean

CHORUS
Your love is crashing over me

It’s surging like a raging sea
Immerse me in the wonder of Your love
A downpour of unending grace
Consuming all my reckless ways
My sins submerged
Your love has saved my soul
Your love is like a storm

One thought on “Gracious Tempest

Leave a Reply

