Psalm 51

Happy MONDAY 🙂

This weekend was amazing! I got to celebrate a best friend’s birthday with some great people up North. Fellow blogger Sophia (justlovethemanyway.wordpress.com) was with me and it was great. We all were one with nature in the great outdoors. I realized being there in the stillness of nature that we don’t need to drive hours to a quiet place because we can have that quiet place in our heart. We can have a new heart, less clustered, rich in love and far from clutter. As great as it was being in an isolated area we must know that where God is there is peace, even in the busiest place there He is.

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit. (Psalm 51:10–12)

I used to treat God as a big eraser that got ride of every wrong or mistake and pardoned me. But God does not only mean to rub the page clean but He intends to write a new story in sin’s place, replacing what was broken, wicked and death with love, faithfulness, and life.

Sure, it took being away from the city to realize this but I refused to let this realization leave me once I made it back to the city. The gospel doesn’t just get us out of hell; it also makes us new. Grace doesn’t just help us shed the weight of past sins; it empowers us to feel and live differently.

Let’s take David as an example. David says, “I know my transgressions, and my sin is ever before me” (Psalm 51:3). He had just seen a married woman bathing naked from his palace roof (2 Samuel 11:2) then lusted over her and brought her into his home and slept with her, then got her pregnant. He then tried to cover his sin by having her husband come home from war and sleep with her (11:9-13). He murdered an honest man to protect his affair.

I love using David as an example because in some ways I was David. The adultery, the lying, and the murder were all just symptoms of a larger, deeper problem. David was evil at his core. Sin infects and cripples us more than we’ll admit, and far more than we ever know. So, to simply rely on grace is one thing but to have a new heart is another. Let our prayer not end with forgiveness (Psalm 51:1) but with newness.

This week’s song is Psalm 51 (Wisdom in the Secret Heart) by Shane & Shane (I will post the video once I find it on YouTube)

CAST ME NOT AWAY FROM YOUR PRESENCE LORD!!! THIS IS MY PRAYER TODAY. DEAR JESUS, DO NOT CAST ME AWAY FROM YOUR PRESENCE BECAUSE I AM TOO COMFORTABLE IN MY SIN AND RELY HEAVILY ON YOUR FORGIVING NATURE. YOU ARE GRACIOUS AND SLOW TO ANGER, RICH IN LOVE AND GOOD TO ALL BUT RENEW A RIGHT SPIRIT WITHIN ME OH GOD. TAKE NOT YOUR HOLY SPIRIT, RESTORE IN ME THE JOY OF YOUR PRESENCE ❤

Pray for me saints, as I pray for you. Amen

9 thoughts on “Psalm 51

  1. “But God does not only mean to run the page clean, but He intends to write a NEW story in sin’s place” YESSS! Loved it. 😍
    Your words reminded me of our special relationship with Christ as our Potter and us the clay. Not only will He smooth out all the bumps, and fill in the cracks, but He’ll continue to do so until I’ve been molded and shaped into His perfect masterpiece! Wow!

    My prayer is that I not only go before God asking for forgiveness but that I ask him to renew my spirit and create in me a new heart!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Talk about being still and know that he is God. Truly an awesome experience being in a place where you find yourself reminiscing on his greatness…..The earth is the lords and the fullness thereof. Great post RP.

    Like

    1. Nikki 🙂 you are so right. It was great being in such a pure, untouched area where beauty is seen at it’s finest with no wordly corruption. This weekend was needed… Put God back in His rightful place(my heart)

      Like

Leave a Reply

