Sharing God With the World

Yesterday at work, something unusual happened. When I asked this particular customer if I could help him with his order his response was “no” but this no was unlike anyone I’ve heard before. This “no” sounded like a “yes.” This middle-aged man was answering a different answer with his eyes. As I began to strike a conversation with him I could see that the help he wanted was somebody to talk to. As we furthered our conversations I was looking for a way to encourage him in whatever was going on in his life because I’m still not sure whether it was his face or my spirit that was telling me he needed to hear a word from God that morning. I prayed a silent prayer that God would use me to speak to this man. Within seconds this man showed me what was in his hands, a suit bag from Calvin Klein. I asked the reason for the suit and then he hit me with the load that he was carrying, “My mother passed away yesterday.” My heart broke. I’ve never wanted to take back a prayer any faster, I did not know what to say, I was not prepared, my cue cards were at home next to my bible. This was like a pop quiz of my spirituality. Then something happened, the words started flowing out of me. I excused myself for a couple minutes and spoke to this man; despite his older age I knew I could still help him through this situation. We spoke for several minutes and he told me he was angry with God, whom he never really believed in but that it was his mother’s God. I empathized and let him know that was exactly how I felt when I lost my Grandmother a few years back. Anger and resentment hit me, followed by understanding and comfort. I became comfortable in the thought that God’s plan is so great that even the human mind cannot understand it. He questioned how God could leave him all alone as he was the only child and had no father present. I reminded him he wasn’t alone; rather God was with him just like he is there with his mother. I invited him to church and asked him not to let what his mother instilled in him pass away because she had.

With death we make the biggest mistake in thinking that we’re alone but God promised in His Word that He will never leave us nor forsake us we will be comforted even in our grief as it says in Matthew 5:4 “Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.”

Therefore brethren’s I would like to leave you with these last words from 1 Thessalonians 5:11 “Encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing.” Let us break out our shells and comfort zones and start witnessing outside of the four walls of the church, let us be the walking church professing God’s greatness in all. Let us not keep God for ourselves and take Him out when we’re good and ready, let us show Him off like the prized possession He is, that can make the difference between a saved soul and a lost one. Remember to share the light today 🙂

9 thoughts on “Sharing God With the World

  1. WOW! Amazing , What you did to help that man is just what we are called to do. I myself work wit customers and I hear so many stories and when I encounter situations like you did with that man. I take that person aside and comfort them with a word of the Lord. I believe that even while on our jobs we are to minister to those who are hurting. I thank God that y0u did just that. For so many saints probably would of been scared to of ministered the way you did, for fear that they would be in trouble. But I know and believe that when God has a divine appointment for us He takes care of everything. Keep doing what you are doing for you will receive your reward, and I am sure the man who you talked to will never be the same.

    To God be the Glory

    Like

    1. Thank you Desiray! This is exactly it, some of us are so afraid, our fear paralyses us to those who really need a word from God. Isn’t it funny that we are afraid to get in trouble from our bosses or whomever but not afraid of the lost souls. These are the things I put into perspective when situations like these arise. Thanks for your sound words 🙂 God bless you!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So important to be attentive to what’s going on around you in the spirit realm. Thank you for your bravery in stepping out and ministering to that man. God bless shae! Xo

    Like

  3. Brilliant .. Your doing what we should be doing. Filled in the spirit to see what God wants , being available for God to use, acting on it. Well done . A great example for us.

    Like

  4. let us be the walking church professing God’s greatness in all. Let us not keep God for ourselves and take Him out when we’re good and ready, let us show Him off like the prized possession He is, that can make the difference between a saved soul and a lost one. Remember to share the light today 🙂

    AHHH LOVE THIS SHAE!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

