Lukewarm

How do you take your coffee?

Whether you like coffee or not lukewarm isn’t something many people like.

The other day my sister made me a cup of my favourite chamomile tea and served it with a grin. As I took a sip I couldn’t help but spit it out. It was WARM. As my sister literally rolled on the floor laughing it had me thinking, am I lukewarm? Does God want to spit me out?

What if you went to Starbucks and ordered a Venti Chai Latte extra foam and it came out warm? You’d probably spit it out and head back to the barista and make a complaint. You paid 5 dollars for a warm drink! Think about it Jesus paid the ultimate price for us, way more than 5 dollars. Jesus tells us we’ve lost our usefulness if we are no longer hot for Him. The reason for this is because we have distanced ourselves from Him. So you go through life not praying daily, not reading daily, not meditating on His goodness daily.

Revelation 3:15-16 puts it plainly “I know your works: you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were either cold or hot! So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth.”

Lukewarm is an adjective that describes a liquid or food that should be hot or an unenthusiastic person.

Being lukewarm is hard to detect on the outside it takes a deliberate effort from the inside. There have definitely been times in my life where on the surface everything seems good but in private I was slowly distancing myself from God. This doesn’t happen overnight but it takes small compromises along the way, just small enough that you don’t realize it. Jesus paints this problem of being lukewarm but in the same chapter He provides the solution itself. Revelation 3:20 reads “Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.”

The movie War Room was an amazing reminder of our walk with God and how we must make a choice to serve Him.

This scene is where the faith driven Miss Clara takes the opportunity to share about the importance of prayer. It doesn’t matter what we think in our head, the test of whether we are in bondage to spiritual self=satisfaction is how earnest and frequent and extended our prayers for change are.

Do you seek the Lord earnestly and often in secret for deeper knowledge of Christ, for earnestness in prayer, for more boldness in witness, for sweeter joy in the Holy Spirit? Just remember we all fall short, but Jesus is the spring of living water that will never run dry. He said who ever drinks of this water shall never thirst, this water will become a spring of water welling up into eternal life.

Leave a Reply

