The Pressure’s Off

Monday already?!

Welcome to another Music Monday 🙂

Help me change Monday’s into a day to celebrate. A new week beginning, the old week is now behind us. This Monday I want us to get rid of last week’s pressures and hold on to the truth that God is a loving God.

Right now, at this very moment, you’re walking one of two paths through life.

Either

  • You’ve decided that what you most want is within your reach, and you’re doing whatever you believe it takes to get it

Or

  • You’ve realized that what you most want is beyond your reach, and you’re trusting God for the satisfaction you seek. You want Him. Nothing less, not even His blessings will do.

If you’re walking the first path, your life is filled with pressure. On this path you see no way to step off the treadmill. You do everything you can but it’s never enough. The pressure is still there.

If you’re walking the second part, you have hope. You know with God there is no pressure and when you work side by side with Him you can rest.

No pressure. No guilt. Just love.

There’s a new way to live that takes the pressure off. Join me as together we search for it.

This week’s song is “Pressure” by Jonathan McReynolds (YES, I love him)

Lyrics:

I, I can’t even turn on my phone
Without being reminded of the lie
That I am alone and broken, unsuccessful
I, I can’t always talk to my friends
‘Cause they’ve got expectations
That I may or may not be living up to
I really need to rid myself

Of the pressure, pressure, pressure
To be someone else that the world has made
Jesus take from me
All the pressure, pressure, pressure
To be someone that you did not create

Help me be me
And only see you
Let me decrease
And glorify you

I, I thought my intentions were good
Just act like a Christian should
And hope someone watching would approve
And be inspired
But you’re not feeling my show
Then how far could I go
Before all of my accomplishment
Go down in fire

Just cause of
Of the pressure, pressure, pressure
To be someone else that the church has made
Jesus take from me
All the pressure, pressure, pressure
To be someone that you did not create

I just wanna live
I just wanna live for you
Nobody else, but you

3 thoughts on “The Pressure’s Off

Leave a Reply

